Project: Aragon Futures Exchange

Project: Aragon Futures Exchange

The project I’m working on is a decentralised exchange for tokenised futures for ERC20 tokens.

What is it

A futures contract is a financial instrument that allows you to buy an asset and take delivery at some time in the future. It’s useful if you want to minimise the volatility risk associated with the underlying asset or of you want to expose your self to more of the risk (and thus earn a larger profit)

Aragon is a project that allows you to create and manage flexible DAOs, the token associated with the project is ANT.

Motivation

My main motivation in building this project is to put into practice the knowledge I have gained from the smart contract 30 courses. I trade futures contracts for a living so its a concept I’m familiar with so I have quite a bit of scope to upgrade the project in the future. I am also an Aragon community member so its a project I know well

How does it work

Alice is a market maker providing liquidity for ANT on the 0x protocol. She uses her inventory of ANT to earn the bid-ask spread. Alice has no opinion on the future price of ANT she simply wants to remain delta neutral on her inventory of ANT (i.e. she wants the value of her ANT to remain the same in relation to DAI)
Bob is a trader, he believes ANT is undervalued and is about to start a massive bull run. He has an inventory of DAI he uses to make speculative trades

1. On the 1st of July, Alice buys 1,000 ANT at 10 DAI per token
  2. She immediately places a sell order for 1,000 ANT at 11 DAI (expiring on the 1st of August) on the Aragon futures exchange. depositing 500 ANT as collateral
  3. Bob sees the futures order, even though the price is 10% higher than the spot price (today’s price), he thinks the price will be much higher by 1st August, he doesn’t want to lock up all his DAI buying at spot, so he is happy to buy the futures contract.